Will of Samuel Gibson (1775-1864)

Samuel C. Gibson (1775-1864) was the father of Samuel Thompson Gibson (1812-1887) who was the father of Andrew Jackson Gibson (1845-1902) who was the father of Albert Gaines Gibson (1871-1922) who was the father of Idabel Amanda Gibson (1892-1983) who was the mother of Jeanette Anne Williams (1921-1968) who was the grandmother of Curt Bright.

Will of Samuel Gibson, Born 9-10-1775 died June 19, 1864

I Samuel Gibson of the county of Russell and State of Virginia believing
myself to be of sound mind and disposing memory, make the following for my
last will and testament:

1st I desire that my funeral expenses and just debts be paid.

2nd I give to my daughter Sally Perry one half of my lands without regard to
equality to be laid off as follows, the divisional line between my land and
the land of Hackney; and to run westward across the lands so as to divide them
equally as to quantity giving Sally the south side of said divisional line
where my dwelling and other improvements are.

3rd I desire that my Executor herein after named immediately after my death
sell the other half of my lands and all my personalty upon such time as is
deemed proper, and pay to Harvey P. Gibson (my son) $100 and distribute the
balance of my eamong all my children, both living and dead except my Thomas
Gibson who went to live with his Uncle when very young and is well provided
for. My grandchildren taking the shares of their deceased parent in said
distribution. But in said distribution the following shares already received
are to be accounted for as follows. My son William’s children are to account
for $399; John’s children are to account for $359; Charles’ children are to
account for $364; my son Harvey P. Gibson is to account for $75; my son James
is to account for $329, my son Wesley is to account for $200; my son Samuel T.
is to account for $380, my son Andrew is to account for $303; my daughter
Sally Peery although she has had $95 is not to be charged with any amount
whatever, as she now lives with me and undertakes to take care of me during my
life. My daughter Elizabeth to account for $120 and my daughter Nancy is to
account for $177 – But the amount of my estate that shall be coming to
Elizabeth and Nancy is not to be paid to any other person whatever but be paid
to each one of them in hand and it is only to be paid over to each one of them
as her own person comfort may require.

4th I appoint my son Harvey P. Gibson, Executor of my Estate.

In testament whereof I hereby set my hand and seal this 5th day of November
1857.

Samuel Gibson (SEAL)
TEST
D. Carter
Elizabeth Carter

Samuel T. Gibson was born in Augusta County, Virginia and died in Russell
County, Virginia. He married Catherine Gratner on October 14, 1794 in
Washington County, Virginia. Catherine Gratner was born 1780 and died in
1840. Her parents were: Hans Ulrich Gratner and Elizabeth ___________.

The children of Samuel T. Gibson and Catherine Gratner:

1. Thomas J. Gibson b July 9, 1806 in Russell County, Virginia married 1.
Mary Polly Vermillion 2. Rachael Jane Ward

2. William Gibson b July 29, 1795 in Russell County, Virginia married
Permilia Peery

3. John Gibson b Oct 20, 1797 in Russell County, Virginia married 1. Cynthia
Peery 2. Milly Cummings

4. Charles C. Gibson b Dec 5, 1799 married 1. Dorinda Cecil 2. Elizabeth
Campbell

5. Harvey Peery Gibson b Jan 10, 1810 in Russell County, Virginia married
Mariah Reynolds

6. James Carroll Gibson b April 20, 1808 in Russell County, Virginia married
1. Jerusha Gilmar 2. Maria C. Rhedy

7. Wesley G. Gibson b Jan 7, 1814

8. Sarah Gibson b Nov 2, 1802 married Jonathan Peery

9. Elizabeth Gibson b March 30, 1804

10. Nancy Gibson b Oct 25, 1819

11. Andrew Peery Gibson b April 15, 1817 married 1. Kitty ___________ 2.
Sarah ___________

12. Samuel Thompson Gibson b July 25, 1812

Mary Lou Meade Newman

Leave a Reply

